HISTORY OF BYRAM PARK
1918: The Town of Greenwich purchased the Silas and Willis Ritch quarry to create a community park. This 20-acre parcel was located between Byram Shore Road and Long Island Sound. The quarry site had supplied Byram Blue Stone over many years for projects in the tri-state area including iconic structures like the Brooklyn Bridge. The beach was constructed from sand brought by barge from Long Island.
1975: Byram Park was enlarged with the purchase of 10 additional acres from the William Rosenwald estate. Known as “The Anchorage,” the estate included a residential pool. Although the house was taken down in 1978, the pool on the estate served as the Town’s only outdoor swimming pool for almost 40 years. Byram Park also includes a marina, lighted baseball field, tennis courts, and a playground.
2011: The Junior League of Greenwich entered into a public-private partnership with the Town to build a new community pool and revitalize Byram Park. The new pool opened in 2018.